New York signs Patrick Ewing

Posted: August 30, 2008 in NBA, News, Random, Sports
Tags: , ,

 

Okay guys the title of the topic is misleading, but I know for a fact a guy named Pat Ewing will be on the Knicks’ roster next season.

It’s obvious I’m not talkin’ about the soon-to-be Hall of Famer. Besides, he has already a gig, namely assistant-coach in Orlando. I’m talking about his son, Patrick Ewing Jr, who got drafted by Sacramento with 43rd pick last june and was subsequently traded with Ron Artest to the Houston Rockets in August.

And guess what, Ewing Jr was once again traded last friday! The guy didn’t play a single minute in NBA so far, and his rights have already been owned by 3 differents teams…

Anyway this time he winds up in New York, the very same place where his storied daddy pulled off so many feats throughout 15 of his 17 NBA seasons. 

I think it’s pretty cool for New York fans to have the opportunity to root for the son of a guy who was a key contributor for the Knicks for so many years! Old fans must be happy about it. But it could be a real letdown… there’s no way to see Ewing Jr as productive as his father used to be. His NCAA career was very inconspicuous, and at best he’ll be a role-player in the L.

Starting off his career in NY is certainly not the easiest way for Ewing Jr. I guess he’ll permanently be liken to his dad. In the long run, it could turn out to be a burden way too heavy to bear. The shadow of his father will stick around anytime he steps on the floor. I hope for him he’ll be able to handle the incoming pressure, otherwise things could get ugly down the stretch.

And I really do hope Knicks’ fans won’t expect him to be a decisive player! People need to understand he’ll never be a superstar.

Comments
  1. Fredd says:

    First, as a knicks fan ( and even more from this Ewing’ era ) … to know that a ” Ewing ” name will be at the back of a NY’ jersey again, is a good news … and I don’t think there will be a misunderstanding between him and the Garden’ fans … they know he’s not his father and Jr knows is not a ” great ” player … maybe he will be more like a mascot.

  2. Travis Outlaw says:

    I really hope frederick weiss comes to the NBA and plays for Houston. Mutumbo is old and about to retire. I hope Weiss comes he’s 7’2. He and Yao can form the new twins towers in Houston.

  3. Fredd says:

    Travis, is it a private joke ?!

  4. Travis Outlaw says:

    Frederick Weis doesn’t have to be scared of you HATERS anymore. Now that he’s got Ron Artest on his team.

  5. Fredd says:

    Travos, I am french so I have some empathy for Weis … don’t call me/us ” Haters ” … but I don’t think 1st he’ll come to the L, 2d that he has the talent to play in the L.

  6. Travis Outlaw says:

    Your right Weis sucks. But he’s still playing on the French National team with NBA guys like Tony Parker, Boris Diaw, Ronny Turiaf, Mickael Pietrus, Yakhouba Diawara. So he still has some game in him. Plus, I would think it would be good for his man hood. Weis is a joke he must be reminded everyday that he was dunked on by Vince Carter. Dikembe Mutombo is old and about to retire the Rockets need a backup center. And Weis is 7’2.

  7. pacer521 says:

    fredrick is trash, sorry

    pacer521

  8. pacer521 says:

    JEEZ where are you? No new posts for a while…

  9. Fredd says:

    Yeah, I miss your articles
    Hope you’re fine

  10. Julien says:

    Hey, I’m okay. I hope you guys are fine as well.
    As for my blog, I’m just running out of ideas, that’s all. I only check my daily hits, and that’s pretty much it.
    Plus, I’m an online games addict, so it’s time-consuming!
    Maybe when the season is gonna kick off I’ll be more talkative 😉

  11. pacer521 says:

    hmm…check nba.com — they have a lot of stores every day

  12. Fredd says:

    Jul, I guess … if you want hits, you need to write something … you must be happy to have readers that are waiting for your words …

Leave a Reply

